Carshalton Athletic win FA award

Congratulations to Carshalton Athletic football club for winning the FA’s ‘Community Club of the Year’ award!

The Sutton Guardian reports that the club will collect their award before England’s San Marino qualifier at Wembley next month, adding:

In the last four years the club has grown inexorably and now boasts seven women and girls teams, a girls football academy and over 40 youth sides.

Although I’m more of a Sutton United man myself – when taking a breather from supporting my beloved Manchester City! – I’m delighted that Carshalton Athletic have won this richly deserved award for their amazing contribution to sport and wellbeing in the borough.

This doesn’t detract from my support for the Chelsea community project at the Life Centre. As I said at a recent Full Council meeting, I really hope that Carshalton Athletic and Sutton United can be part of these scheme too and I’ll be seeking an update on this.

